Komodo Island in the list of the New 7 Wonders of Nature - Tourism Indonesia




Saturday, November 12, 2011

Komodo Island in the list of the New 7 Wonders of Nature

The provisional results of the global vote of the New7Wonders of Nature are: Amazon, Halong Bay, Iguazu Falls, Jeju Island, Komodo, Puerto Princesa Underground River, Table Mountain.
Announcing the results at the headquarters of the New7Wonders Foundation in Zurich, Switzerland, Bernard Weber, Founder-President of New7Wonders, said: “I would like to thank the many champions, citizens, voluntary organisations, public bodies and governments that have helped promote the New7Wonders of Nature campaign over the past four years, starting with over 440 locations from over 220 countries and all the way to the 28 Finalist candidates from whom the New7Wonders of Nature have been chosen.”

The results announced this evening are provisional and based on the first count of votes completed since voting ended at 11:11 GMT this morning. The results will now be checked, validated and independently verified. Once the voting validation process is completed, in early 2012, New7Wonders will then work with the confirmed winners to organise the Official Inauguration events. Note: It may happen that one or more of the provisional winners announced today will not be confirmed during the validation process, New7Wonders will issue a media update should this happen.

The new world wonders

Amazon rainforest: The forest covers over a billion acres, encompassing areas in Brazil, Venezuela, Colombiam Ecuador and Peru. At least 40,000 plant species, 3,000 freshwater fish species and more than 370 reptile species exist in the Amazon.

Halong Bay: Vietnam's attraction is made up of 1,600 islands and islets. The islands are dotted with caves, most of which can only be reached by a charter boat. It was first listed as a Unesco World Heritage Stie in 1994.

Iguazu Falls: The site in Argentina is a network of 275 different waterfalls spanning an area that is 3 kilometres wide. The part with the largest volume of water is the narrow horseshoe of the Devil's Throat, which cradles between Argentina and Brazil. Unesco declared the Iguazu Falls as a World Heritage Area in 1986.

Jeju Island: South Korea's subtropical volcanic island is located 130 kilometres off the southern coast of the Korean Peninsula. It is known for its scenic mountains, waterfalls, forests, caves and beaches. In 2002, Unesco declared Jeju a "biosphere reserve", and listed it as a World Natural Heritage Site in 2007. In 2010, it was awarded "geopark" status.

Komodo: Indonesia's Komodo island is famous for its unique fauna and its unusual inhabitant, the Komodo dragon, which is considered the world's largest living lizard. Komodo island also features a beach with pink sand - one of only seven in the world.

Puerto Princesa Underground River: The Philippines' tourist spot can be reached through an organised boat ride. To enter the river, one needs to go on a short hike from Sabang town in Puerto Princesa. One of the river's distinguishing features is that it emerges directly into the sea, and its lower portion is subject to tidal influences. The area has some of the most important forests in Asia and is home to more than 250 bird species, 800 plant species and at last 295 types of trees. It was declared a World Heritage Site in 1999.

Table Mountain: This tourist hotspot in South Africa is a level plateau edged by impressive cliffs. The plateau forms a dramatic backdrop to Cape Town. The mountain's vegetation landscape, home to at least 2,200 plant species, is a protected area and is a World Heritage Site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

your comments are now being moderated