Lake Toba, Komodo, Krakatau Isles Nominated For New 7 wonders Of Nature

The New7Wonders Foundation has nominated three locations in Indonesia, namely Komodo Isle National Park (East Nusa Tenggara), Lake Toba (North Sumatra), and Krakatau Isle (off sothern Sumatra) for world recognition as part of New7Wonders of Nature for the period 2008-2010, a tourism official said.

The campaign of selection New7Wonders of Nature candidates is being done through a live-vote method on, Antara news agency reported.

Nestled between the large Indonesian islands of Java and Sumatra is the Krakatau Volcano National Park.

In the fourth century, a single marine volcano stood at this site, but in 416 AD, the caldera of the volcano collapsed.

Indonesia's Komodo National Park includes the three larger islands Komodo, Rinca and Padar, as well as numerous smaller ones, for a total area of 1,817 square kilometers (603 square kilometers of it land). The national park was founded in 1980 to protect the Komodo dragon.

No comments:

Post a Comment

your comments are now being moderated