Wakatobi opens registration for undersea photo contest - Tourism Indonesia




Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Wakatobi opens registration for undersea photo contest

The Tourism and Culture Service of Wakabobi district, South East Sulawesi, is now opening registration for participants of an undersea photo contest.

"We are now opening registration beginning today. A number of photographers from various regions in Indonesia have registered to take part in the undersea photo contest," head of Wakatobei tourism and culture service Tawakal said here on Sunday.

He said the theme of the photo contest was : "The Beauty of Under Water World Coral Reef Triangle. It will be held as part of the Sail Wakatobi Belitong activities whose opening would be entered in Wakatobe.

The participants of the contest will begin taking pictures under water after the Sail Wakatobi Belitong Sail is launched by the minister for maritime and fisheries on July 16, 2011.

He said that the contest was also open for world class photographers from various countries. Since the opening the international event, more than 70 participants have registered, he said.

The marine affairs and fishery ministry`s director general of marine and fishery sources supervision concurrently the Sail Wakatobi-Belitong organizing committee secretary, Syahrin Abdurrahman said earlier the Sail 2011 event has six main activities.

The activities are a yacht rally, a civic mission of Bhakti Surya Bhaskara Jaya, national and international seminars on marine and fishery sources management, archipelagic youth marine cross, marine and fishery product exhibitions, and the peak event which will be attended by President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

The Sail Wakatobi-Belitong 2011 will be organized for six weeks, since the second week of July until the fourth week of August.

The Yacht Rally will start in Darwin, Australia, on July 23, and they will pass 21 districts/cities in Indonesia, and finally finish in Singapore.

The Bhakti Surya Baskara Jaya Operation will be carried out in six provinces, namely Riau Islands, Bangka Belitung (Sumatra Island), West Kalimantan, Gorontalo, Southeast Sulawesi, and South Sulawesi.

Source: Antara

No comments:

Post a Comment

your comments are now being moderated